What is the first memory you have of riding a bike?

When I was younger I can remember riding my bike in the garden and doing laps with my younger brother.


How did you get involved in cycling?

My parents belonged to a local cycling club and both raced time trial events.  One afternoon the club organised a kids go-ride session and I had a go on my mountain bike.  Before long I was racing in the Notts & Derby Cyclocross League, followed by circuit racing at Mallory park.  Once Derby track was built I was a regular there too.


What was your first race and how did it go?

My first race was a cyclo-cross event and I was 11yrs old.  I can remember it being on a really bumpy, hilly course. Halfway round my chain snapped and that was it, my race was over.


Why do you race?

I love to race as I enjoy the speed and thrill of it, also I’m very competitive.  It keeps me fit and healthy, plus I get to travel and meet lots of different people.


Where is your favourite place to ride?

For the past few years I have been to Calpe in Spain on training camps.  I particular enjoy riding there as it`s usually warm and sunny.


What is your proudest accomplishment thus far?

My proudest accomplishment so far was to represent GB at the 2018  Junior Women`s World Road Race Championships in Austria, it was an amazing experience.  Also, to win the first ever National Junior Women`s Road Series.


Do you have any pre-race routines or lucky charms?

I like to get to races in plenty of time so I don`t have to rush.  I also like to listen to music as it helps to keep me relaxed and focused. I use rollers to warm up on.


What is your ambition for 2019?

A top 10 finish in the Women’s National Road Series, to qualify for the 3km IP National Track Championships (sub 3.45) and a top 20 in the Ras na mBam.


What is the race you would most love to compete in and why?

I love tough stage races; Gio d`Italia or the OVO Women`s Tour would be pretty awesome.


What is your favourite music to listen to?

Chart music or anything upbeat.


What do you like to do when you have time at home that is not cycling?

I like to socialise with my friends, chillout and watch movies and occasionally bake cakes.  

April Tacey

Nationality: British

Member of team since: 2019

Discipline(s): Road, track & time trials

Coach: My dad and I

Bike(s):  Cervelo road & TT bike, Boardman pro -training bike, Planet x - track bike

Career Highlights:   Junior Women`s National Road Series 2018; 1st - Essex Gio stage race 2018 (1st prologue & 35 mile solo breakaway to take stage 3 and overall GC); 1st - Bourne Wheeler Junior Women`s RR 2017; 2nd - Women`s Team Series – Coalville 2018; 3rd - North West Junior Women`s Tour 2018; 3rd - National Track Championships - Madison 2016; 4th - National 10 mile TT Championships (Junior) 2018;
4th - National Track Championships – Team Pursuit 2017; 5th - National Track Championships - Individual Pursuit 2min 29sec 2018.